Homepage >  Project >  Planning >  Text

Begin with an Ecological Infrastructure: The Wulijie Eco-City

2011-04-20

Project Information

Project Location:
China Wulijie, Jiangxia District of Wuhan, Hubei Province, China
Project Classify:
Planning
Project Scale:
10 square kilometers (6.2 square miles) of urban core; 22 square kilometers (13.6 square miles) with surroundings
Design Time:
2009-8-
Buildtime:
2013-10-
Award List:
-

Project Profile

Wulijie new town is 10 square kilometers (6.2 square miles) in the eastern part of Wuhan about 30 kilometers (19 miles) from the city center. Just to its west is a large high tech area called Optics Valley, and at its south and east is the protected, high-water-quality Liang Zhi Hu Lake, to which the water from the Wulijie is drained. The climate is hot and rainy in the summer and cold in the winter. Precipitation is around 1200 millimeters (47 inches) per year; the average high temperature in the summer is 38 Centigrade (100 Fahrenheit), and the average low temperature in the winter is just above freezing. The elevations are between 15 and 100 meters, with a landform of rolling hills, small basins, and many ponds of different sizes that catch stormwater. Helping alleviate both floods and draughts, the ponds are important features in this previously agricultural land.
 
Wulijie is planned to be one of many new towns in China to accommodate rapid urbanization. It will have 100,000 residents, of which 10% will be current locals and 90% immigrants who will work in Optics Valley and the new town.
 
The main urban design concept for the town is to use landscape as ecological infrastructure to integrate various natural and cultural processes to frame the city, and to provide diverse ecosystem services for the residents. Integration and connectivity of natural, biological, and cultural processes are central to the project.
 
Here are the urban design strategies for the town:
  • A water-based ecological infrastructure (EI) will organize the town. The EI is designed around the existing water systems and land forms. The key functions are to retain and clean stormwater. Different rainfall amounts are simulated to determine the area and pattern of the pond/wetland system so that all stormwater will be retained on site and will have little impact on the regional water system. This will reduce the construction costs of underground drainage pipes and preserve or create habitat for native wildlife and wetland vegetation such as lotus, wild rice stem, water chestnut, water caltrop, and Chinese arrowhead.
          Public spaces are integrated with the EI. Three levels of green and water corridors are designed to accommodate various functions. The main corridors are 120 to 150 meters wide and will catch runoff from the whole area during the severest storms. Secondary corridors are 60 to 90 meters wide, and these will catch runoff from the subdivisions of the watershed during medium rainstorms. The third level corridors are 20 to 30 meters wide and will catch the water of small storms.
  • A network of pedestrian trails and bicycle paths will make the town completely walkable and allow residents to commute and have recreational experiences in the green space. While the regional mobility of the city is still serviced by a transit system and roads, the town will use the EI help people move around. The maximum walking distance from any corner of the town to a bus station will be 600 meters, and all residents will be able to reach the green network within five minutes.
  • Urban land is valued according to its relationship with EI. The land overlooking the ecological infrastructure will be given priority for residential development. The overall city form is defined by the EI.
  • The eco-friendly, environmentally sensitive, and low carbon landscape and architecture create a new aesthetic environment and a new lifestyle. Native biodiversity, low maintenance, and productivity are the main traits of the vegetation in the green space around the EI. Buildings have roof gardens and living green facades. Retired people can spend their time fishing in the ponds in front of their apartments or the streets; workers go along the EI to their workplaces; and children play in the productive agricultural fields where parents are growing vegetables in community gardens.
All comments only on behalf of Internet users
Refresh

首页 >  土人项目 >  规划 >  正文

生态基础设施先行:武汉五里界生态城

2011-04-20 浏览:6039次

项目信息

项目地点:
中国 湖北省武汉江夏五里界
项目类别:
规划
项目规模:
10平方公里(6.2平方英里)城市核心区;22平方公里(13.6平方英里)周边区域
设计时间:
2009-8-
建成时间:
2013-10-
所获奖项:
-

项目简介

  五里界新城占地10平方公里(6.2平方英里),位于武汉东部,距离城市中心约有30公里(19英里)。新城的西面是高科技开发区——光谷;南面和东面是受保护的梁子湖,水质优美,新城中的雨水就排放到这里。当地夏季炎热多雨,冬季寒冷。年降水量在1200毫米(47英寸)左右;夏天平均最高气温38摄氏度(100华氏度)左右,冬天平均最低气温几乎低到零度。当地海拔在15到100米之间,地形以绵延的山丘、小型盆地和许多大小不一的蓄水池塘为特征。池塘有助于缓和旱涝灾害,是这片前农业用地的重要组成部分。

 
  像许多其他新城区一样,五里界的规划是为了适应飞速发展的城市化进程。新城居民将达100,000人,其中10%是当地居民,90%是将要在光谷和新城工作的外来移民。其规划设计的核心理念是把景观作为生态基础设施,使多种多样的自然和文化过程与城市的形成和发展融合在一起,为居民提供多样、便捷的服务,为城市的空间发展提供引导。
 
  设计策略:
 
  用以水为主的生态基础设施构成城市的基本肌理。沿现存水系和地形构建生态基础设施,使雨水能够最大限度地保留在这片土地上,同时净化雨水。通过对不同的降水强度模拟来确定池塘和湿地系统的面积和类型,以便所有的雨水都能保留在原地并且对当地的水系统产生微弱的影响。这不仅将减少地下排水管道的建造费用,同时还保护或创造了本土动植物和湿地植物生长的栖息地,比如莲花、茭白、荸荠 、菱角和竹芋。
 
  将公共空间与生态基础设施整合在一起。设计三种不同级别的绿色廊道或河道廊道:主廊道宽120到150米,它能够在强降水时吸收来自整个区域中的径流;次级廊道宽60到90米,它能够在中等强度降水时吸收来自分水岭支流的径流;三级廊道宽20到30米,可吸收小强度的降水。
 
  设置纵横交错的人行道和自行车道,使这个城市完全适于步行,居民可在廊道中穿行并获得多种体验。当城市的区域间物质流动仍旧依赖交通系统和公路时,我们就开始在五里界运用生态基础设施为人们出行提供帮助。从五里界任何角落到公交站点的最大步行距离仅600米,所有居民都能在五分钟内到达绿色网络。
 
  利用生态基础设施决定整个城市的形态。城市土地的价值由土地与生态基础设施的关系决定。在城市开发过程中,将对生态基础设施影响小的土地优先用于住宅开发。
 
  利用生态、环保、低碳的景观与建筑创造符合新美学的环境和崭新的生活方式。采用本土物种,创造低维护成本、繁殖力旺盛的绿色空间。在建筑物顶部设置屋顶花园,在墙面上覆盖绿色植物。退休的人们可以抽空在公寓或街道前面的池塘里钓钓鱼;工作的人们可以沿着生态网络走到工作场所;孩子们则可以当父母在社区花园里种植蔬菜的时候在肥沃的农田里玩耍。
 
 
所有评论仅代表网友意见
看不清,请刷新

读者评论

  • wh2012-08-04 14:50
    看过大师的作品,但还从未见过俞大师本人......
  • 雨中滩2012-03-02 12:02
    真好,很希望有机会接触到俞老师
  • 2011-09-07 12:46
    很好
  • 张雷磊2011-06-09 17:54
    我就是武汉的,周末过去学习学习,很期待俞老师的作品。
加载更多