Homepage >  Project >  Landscape >  Text

The Red Folding Paper in the Greenway

2013-04-07

Project Information

Project Location:
China Qinhuangdao, Hebei Province, China
Project Classify:
Landscape
Project Scale:
12 hectares, 700 m long
Design Time:
2007-3-
Buildtime:
2010-5-
Chief Designer:
Kongjian Yu

Project Profile

The Red Folding Paper in the Greenway

Project Name: The Red Folding Paper in the Greenway
Location: Qian'an City
Scale: 12 hectares, 700 m long
Design time: 2007/3-2007/7
Client: Construction Bureau of Qian'an City
Completion time: May 2010

This project makes green space full of vigor and vitality through an innovative combination of installation art, outdoor furniture and greenways. Design intervention for the overall greenway includes the ecological restoration of a polluted and channelized river that transformed a previous inaccessible “urban back warren” into a recreational and communicational “urban front yard” for the residents, particularly the children, who are now enjoying this sprightly and vivacious place on their daily route to school. As an important part of the greenway at a larger scale, the Red Folding Paper, is an art installation and outdoor furniture combining seats, trails, bicycle shed and lighting, which has given the greenway its identity and a sense beyond "green."

1.Project Background

Situated in the eastern part of Qian'an City, Hebei Province, the Red Folding Paper is part of Sanlihe Greenway, which is about 16-km long and covers an area of 800 hectares. The core concept of creating this greenway is to bring the ecological landscape of Sanlihe River, the mother river of Qian'an, back to the region. Running across the city, Sanlihe Greenway helps to catalyze the urban construction on both sides of the waterway. Implemented strategies include sewage and solid waste control, rainwater harvesting and maintaining for the constructed areas on both sides, water diversion from the upper reach of Luan River into the city center, planting along the greenway, which functions as an axis providing walkways and bicycle paths with recreational and art installations along the way.

The Red Folding Paper is located at the core section of Sanlihe Greenway, a linear space running north to south, which is about 700-m long and covers an area of 12 hectares. The site used to be a 10-meter-wide canalized river with concrete embankment. The river has gone dry for several years, with willows more than 10 years old thriving on both sides. The linear-shaped site separates the urban residential area from the peripheral rural area, with high-density urban residential area on the west side and an elementary school (the Fourth Experimental Primary School of Qian'an) and a kindergarten on the southeast side.

The Qian'an City has long been known as “Northern Paper-cutting Town”, with the papermaking industry started in Yongle period (1403-1424) of Ming Dynasty. The paper brands now include Lingzhi calligraphy paper,Gaoli paper and the Zhiji Paper (machine-made paper). The first mechanical papermaking factory in northern China was founded in Qian'an. The once famous Qian'an Hua-Feng Paper Factory is located on the north side of the site (the factory has been shut down for years, and is currently planned as a museum). The paper-related arts are also prosperously developed because of the paper industry, and become one of the major cultural features of the Qian'an City. The most distinctive art form is Qian'an paper cutting, also known as paper carving, window-decoration cutting or paper-cut painting, which dates back to the late Qing Dynasty. Paper cutting tools include scissors and carving knives. Although the tools are varies, the works is called paper cutting in general. The Qian'an paper cutting has gained a high reputation all over China for a long time.

2. The Red Folding Paper in the Greenway

Based on the site conditions and the city's social, cultural and historical background described above,the designers removed the cement embankment along the river,while kept the willows along the riverbank. For the purpose of preventing the trees falling down due to the embankment removal, the designers filled the dry river channel with planting soil. A new waterway is created on the east side, functions as an ecological river collecting storm-water runoff as well as a scenic byway reconnecting the upper and lower reach of Luan River. The original dried-up channel has been transformed into a flower-ribbon in the forest, where lots of native wild chrysanthemums (Chrysanthemum indicum) are planted. Wild chrysanthemum is a self-seeding plant requiring low-maintenance. The plant is native to China, and usually used as herb medicine. In spring and summer the green plants lush through the fields, while in autumn the yellow flowers bloom prosperously, becoming a pure background with rustic charm for the artificial installations on site---The Red Folding Paper.

Inspired by the well-known local folk art of paper cutting, the Red Folding Paper was created to make the greenway a lively and attractive destination. The Folding Paper is made of fiber glass,a high-plasticity material which can be easily constructed on site and maintained afterward. The overall idea is to integrate outdoor furniture and park facilities, including bicycle shed, shading canopy, rain shelter and benches, making them into one continuous art installation. In addition, a wooden walkway runs through the Red Folding Paper and makes the whole piece an experiencing corridor.

Integrating diverse functions while employing a unified form, meeting functional needs while providing aesthetic experiences, as well as being visually appealing, are the keys to the success of the Red Folding Paper. Employing a 1:50 paper-cut model, multiple tests were made by the designers together with fiber glass technical experts. The joint-effort also helped to make the final design decisions, followed by the on site fabrication and construction. Taking into consideration the color palette created by its surround natural landscape, with dense willow branches on top and a think cover of wild chrysanthemum on the ground, Chinese red was picked by the designer as the color of the Folding Paper. In a landscape setting mostly dominated by the color of green, with the exception when the yellow flowers blossom in autumn followed by a period of harsh and colorless winter in northern China, the Red Folding Paper creates a strong visual contrast with the context while sits in harmony with the landscape around it.

3 Post-occupancy evaluation

Through two years’ Post-occupancy evaluation since the completion of the project, the Red Folding Paper has been shown as a successful project: the sunlight shines through the willow leaves early in the morning, rendering the Folding Paper a bright vivid red, with kids running happily on the wooden walkways, passing through the changing spaces full of twists and turns; later in the day, the kindergarten teachers hold hands with toddlers, experiencing this dreamy scene created by the red structure; the Suona players who are doing the morning exercise playing heroic melodies,with the Red Folding Paper at the background; the school children gather around the Red Folding Paper in the evening, using it as tables to do their homework. From morning till night, the Red Folding Paper functions as a magnet, which attracts people gathering around or passing through it. The Red Folding Paper functions as a unique stage setting, exhibits the vibrant urban daily life of all kinds of people, such as a model who is being photographed, an old man who is taking a walk, a women who is walking the dogs or a man who passing through the corridor. Even in the night, lighting design make the Folding Paper a romantic setting for young and old who come here to enjoy listening the insects that signing in the ecologically recovered mother river of Qian'an City. The Red Folding Paper thus become part of the everyday life of local people and makes their life an art.
All comments only on behalf of Internet users
Refresh

首页 >  土人项目 >  景观 >  正文

绿道中的红折纸

2013-04-07

项目信息

项目地点:
中国 河北省迁安市
项目类别:
景观
项目规模:
占地12公顷,长 700米
设计时间:
2007-3-
建成时间:
2010-5-
委托方:
迁安市建设局

项目简介

  本设计探讨如何将装置艺术和户外家具与绿道相结合,从而使绿地充满生机与活力的。项目内容包括将原有的硬化和污染的河道进行生态修复,结合更大范围的绿道设计,通过一组“红折纸”环境装置和户外家具,整合诸如座椅、步道、自行车棚、灯光和其他户外设施,使昔日偏僻的“后杂院,”成为居民游憩和交流的城市“前厅”,特别是将孩子上学的道路,变为灵动而活泼的体验场所。
 
  项目背景
 
  项目位于河北省迁安市东部,是三里河生态廊道(占地800公顷,长16公里)的一个部分。整体生态廊道建设的核心理念是重现三里河作为迁安母亲河的生态景观,使之成为一条穿越城市的生态廊道,催化两岸城市建设。措施包括截留污水和处理固体废弃物,收集和滞蓄两岸建成区的雨水,并从上游将滦河之水引入城内,沿绿道进行绿化种植,以绿道为轴,建立纵横步道和自行车道,布置休闲设施和艺术品。
 
  而装置所在的场地位于三里河生态廊道的核心区段,是一个狭长地带,绿地范围12公顷,南北长度700米。原场地是一条被水泥渠化和硬化的河道,约10米宽。河道常年无水,但两侧有两排10多年的柳树茂盛地生长着。该场地是城市核心居住区与外围乡村居民区的分界,其西侧为高密度的城市居民区,场地东南侧分布有小学(迁安第四实验小学)和幼儿园。
 
  迁安有"北方纸乡"之称,迁安造纸业始于明朝永乐年间(1403 年至1424 年〉。现有品牌如"令支"牌书画纸、高丽纸、机制纸。中国北方最早的一家机械造纸厂诞生于迁安市。 其中盛极一时的迁安华丰造纸厂就坐落在场地的北侧(目前已停产,已规划作为博物馆)。与纸相关的艺术,也因为发达的造纸业而发展起来,并成为迁安的一大文化特色。其中最有特色的是迁安的剪纸,又叫刻纸、窗花或剪画,这一传统艺术始于清末。所用工具包括剪刀和刻刀。虽然工具有别,但作品大体相同,人们统称其为剪纸。迁安的剪纸在全国负有盛誉。
 
  绿道中的红折纸
 
  基于上述场地的条件和城市的社会文化背景,设计师将河道一侧的水泥清楚除,保留了旧河堤上的两排柳树,而为使柳树能继续在原地生长而不致因河堤的拆除而倒下,将原干枯的河槽里覆填上种植土,而在其东侧,新开一条用以收集雨水和连接上下游溪流的生态化河道。 旧河道于是变成了一条线性的林中种植带,大量播种乡土野菊。这是一种低维护的野花,中国特有,常作为药材,可自播繁衍。春夏绿茵繁茂,秋天则黄花一片,形成一个纯净而富于野趣的、可以点缀人工装置的“背景。”
 
  如何使这一绿道变得生动而聚人,是将“红折纸”引入的主旨,而其创作的形式灵感源于当地的剪纸艺术。选用玻璃钢作为材料,它本身有纸的属性,可塑性强,现场施工方便,且便于使用期间的维护管理。总体构思是将所有户外家具和公园设施都整合在这一折纸中,包括自行车棚、荫棚和雨亭、坐凳都折在一起,成为一条连续的装置艺术品。同时,与一条贯穿的木栈道相结合,变成一条体验的走廊。
 
  如何通过统一的形式语言来整合多样的功能集合,使这一装置在满足诸多功能需求的同时具有视觉的艺术感和体验的美感,是这一“红折纸”成败的关键。通过1:50的剪纸模型,经过仔细推敲,最终确定设计,与玻璃钢技术人员一起,在现场制作完成。而红色的选用则充分考虑作为其背景的自然景观:其上空是浓密的柳树枝叶,而地面是浓密的野菊覆盖,大部分时间都已绿色主导,唯独秋天黄花遍地。冬天的北方则萧瑟而凄凉。无论何时,纯然的绿道背景中的“红色的折纸”都可与其所在的环境形成强烈的对比,却有不过分的喧闹。
 
  建成两年后的使用观察证明,“红折纸”是成功的:清晨,缕缕阳光透过柳荫,把“红折纸”照得透明而鲜红,兴奋的孩子们沿着木栈道,奔跑着穿越曲折多变的空间;稍晚些,幼儿园的老师,牵引着蹒跚学步的孩童,体验着梦幻般地场景;晨练的唢呐吹手,以红色的“折纸”为背景,鼓弄着英雄的旋律;傍晚时分,放学的儿童们聚首于“红折纸”中的桌椅上,完成课外作业。每天,从早到晚,拍照的模特、遛弯的老人、遛狗的女人、过路穿行的男子......“红折纸”就像一条磁石,吸引着各种人来此活动,又像是一处舞台背景,展现着丰富的城市生活,并使平常的生活环境体验变为艺术的体验。
所有评论仅代表网友意见
看不清,请刷新

读者评论

  • summer2016-11-23 15:23
    什么艺术体验都是打着艺术家的幌子?实际意义不太大,视觉效果与场所体验给人都不理想。应该拆了
  • 江兰儿2014-06-04 18:21
    真的很好哎,结合审美和实用,但是如果能在飘带上赋予一点色彩明暗上的变化,会不会更有立体感和变化感,一楼的说的正是我想说的,那么长的红飘带可以结合一点同色系的剪纸或者镂空花纹,会更添彩的
  • 柴新2014-05-28 02:30
    我觉得很有创意,大红色也很抢眼,只是呆久了/看多了会不会花眼啊,还有就是这样的设计会不会功能性单一呢,
  • CC2014-03-23 15:56
    创意好棒
  • 园林小善2014-03-14 16:16
    我觉得,这并不是说是否是另一个“红飘带”,应该这是土人设计的特色所在。虽然异曲同工,到所出来的景观效果却不尽相同。
加载更多