Homepage >  News >  Media Coverage >  Text

World-Architects: 2023 National Design Awards nARCHITECTS and Kongjian Yu Among Cooper Hewitt Honorees

2023-08-17 Source:World-Architects

The Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum has announced the winners of the 2023 National Design Awards, which “recognize design innovation and impact” in ten categories, including architecture and landscape architecture.

The 24th annual awards, announced yesterday, honor “the ways in which design enriches everyday life.” The awards' ten categories have changed over time since the National Design Awards were established in 2000 as a project of the White House Millennium Council, with Climate Action, for instance, added in 2020 to recognize a project that makes “significant contributions to addressing the global climate crisis.” Related to architecture, this year's awards see architecture and interior design — two previously united fields in the Awards — broken into separate honors.

As in past awards from the New York-based institution, public programs celebrating the National Design Awards will be taking place throughout the rest of the year and during the free National Design Week, which takes place at the Cooper Hewitt (2 East 91st Street) from October 2–8, 2023.

"This year’s National Design Award winners are a highly diverse group—from a handcraft-focused fashion designer to one of the early pioneers of digital design—but they share many common traits: a highly rigorous process to their discipline, a truly collaborative approach and putting people front and center in their practice. These are design core values worth celebrating."

Dung Ngo, jury chair 

The winners are listed below, followed by more information on the winners in the architecture and landscape architecture categories (with text excerpts from the museum's announcement) and the names of the jury members at bottom. Visit the Cooper Hewitt website for more information on all the winners.

The 2023 Winners:

Seymour Chwast, Design Visionary

Biocement Tiles by Biomason, Climate Action

Beatriz Lozano, Emerging Designer

nARCHITECTS, Architecture

Arem Duplessis, Communication Design

Clement Mok, Digital Design

Naeem Khan, Fashion Design

The Archers, Interior Design

Kongjian Yu, Landscape Architecture

Atlason, Product Design

Architecture: nARCHITECTS

nARCHITECTS: Eric Bunge and Mimi Hoang (Photo: Brian Shumway)

Architecture: nARCHITECTS

Given to an individual or firm for their contributions to the built environment that advance the understanding of spatial experiences, this year’s National Design Award for Architecture goes to nARCHITECTS.

“nARCHITECTS was founded by Eric Bunge and Mimi Hoang in 1999, with the goal of addressing urgent issues through socially engaging architecture. The firm works for the public good, maximizing the mutual positive impact between communities, buildings, public spaces and their environment. In 2016, nARCHITECTS completed Carmel Place, New York City’s first micro-unit apartment building, and A/D/O, a design center dedicated to improving urban life. In 2018, the NYS Equal Rights Heritage Center provided a platform for social justice. In 2020, The Jones Beach Energy & Nature Center opened, educating a new generation of environmental stewards. nARCHITECTS’ commitment to innovative housing and the integration of architecture into landscape emerged from Bunge and Hoang’s early work (Canopy and Switch Building) and graduate design studios taught at Columbia and Yale University.”

nARCHITECTS: Jones Beach Energy and Nature Center, 2020 (Photo: Michael Moran)

nARCHITECTS: NYS Equal Rights Heritage Center, 2018 (Photo: James Ewing Photography)

Landscape Architecture: Kongjian Yu

Kongjian Yu. Photo: Courtesy of Kongjian Yu

Landscape Architecture: Kongjian Yu

The Landscape Architecture award recognizes an individual or firm for their contributions to the integration between the built, urban and natural environments and for advancing the understanding of spatial experiences. This year’s award is presented to Kongjian Yu.

“Yu is a globally recognized leader in ecological landscape planning and design. A farmer’s son, he was trained at the Harvard Graduate School of Design. He is the founder of the Peking University College of Architecture and Landscape Architecture. Yu is also founder and principal designer of Turenscape. His multi-disciplinary firm specializes in the development of landscapes that combat flooding while repairing ecological damage. Several of Yu’s core ideas for nature-based climate adaptations, including the sponge city concept, have been implemented nationwide in China. Yu is a fellow of the American Society of Landscape Architects and member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He lectures widely and has received numerous awards, including the Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award in 2020 from the International Federation of Landscape Architects.”

Kongjian Yu: Fish Tail Park, 2021 (Photo: Turenscape)

Kongjian Yu: The Red Ribbon, 2006 (Photo: Turenscape)

The 2023 Jury:

Dung Ngo (chair), editor in chief, August Journal

Tiffany Chu, chief of staff to the mayor, City of Boston

Carla Fernández Tena, creative director, Carla Fernández

Noah Schwarz, director of product design, Herman Miller

Sara Zewde, principal and assistant professor of practice, Studio Zewde and Harvard University

Sourse: https://www.world-architects.com/en/architecture-news/headlines/narchitects-and-kongjian-yu-among-cooper-hewitt-honorees

All comments only on behalf of Internet users