Homepage >  Project >  Planning >  Text

Moscow River-River Recovered

2015-01-30

Project Information

Project Location:
Russia Moscow, Russia
Project Classify:
Planning
Project Scale:
10,400Ha
Design Time:
2014-9-30
Buildtime:
2015-1-30
Client:
Moscow City Government & Genplan Institute of Moscow
Chief Designer:
Kongjian Yu

Project Profile

Moscow River – River Recovered

In comparing the maps of metropolises that were nurtured by rivers, it is astonishing to find that the Moscow River has still retained its pronounced, meandering form even after a millennium of human settlement.

The meanders of a river are one of the most distinguished features of nature’s high resiliency, showing the flexibility, suitability and strength of natural hydrology systems. However, this sinuosity is almost exclusive to the natural world and is extremely rare in metropolises with long histories of settlement. River cities have a pattern of harnessing natural meanders by armoring embankments and straightening curved waterways, especially with the advent of the industrial revolution and the subsequent demand for fast urban transit. Although these arbitrary actions have resulted in temporary efficiency in transportation and industrialization, they have often permanently eradicated one of the most important natural river features, and together the whole set of eco-services that ensure the sustainability of the urban ecosystem. Entering into the 21st century, the desire to keep in touch with nature and enjoy the resiliency of ecosystems has returned to urbanized areas due to the end of primitive industrialization and the rise of new technologies that promise more sustainable growth with limited resources. City dwellers all over the world now rush to rural areas to enjoy spectacular views of winding rivers.

Moscow has the unique opportunity to restore the natural features of its river, as one of the few cities whose meanders remain almost intact. By restoring, reorienting, reorganizing and programmatically curating the riverfront of Moscow River and its area of influence, there is a great opportunity to restore and create multifaceted resiliency for the urban area, resiliency that includes not only of the ecosystem, but also transportation, culture, economy and growth. The undulating meanders of the Moscow River, which has survived numerous periods of turmoil with the city and emerged stronger than ever, will eventually guide the world-renowned metropolis through the end of industrialized urbanization and into a new, eco-sustainable era that calls for resiliency to ensure harmony between nature and human society.

Design Description

The design vision of the Moscow River framework masterplan is based on the avant-garde concept of creating a Resilient River with its pronounced meandering form. Rather than treating the river as a single element with mono-functional, conventional planning methods by designing places around the river embankment in singularity, the Moscow River framework masterplan is designed with a totality reverse planning method, an integrative approach that is both scientifically sound and aesthetically pleasing, from the perspective of the city ecosystem as a whole.

The city of Moscow is structured around a winding blue line with a wedged green network: the Moscow River is rooted as a spine which threads through the entire city, complimented by a robust green network system that penetrates the city center of Moscow. The designed framework uses a holistic approach that creates green infrastructure in the form of a series of meanders to provide ecosystem services to the City of Moscow. The meanders will act like a living blue thread that sews fragmented city areas together and restores their natural benefits. They are to become the new hearts of the city and provide a blueprint for city ecological renewal, urban connections, social equity, cultural identity, and vibrant economy to adopt in time. The final resolution is composed of four major strategies: a regulating structure, transformative content, detailed priority development and incremental time curation to strive for city resilience.

The whole framework masterplan will deal with five challenges identified in Moscow. These challenges can be solved for a great part by reorganizing the relationship between the river and the city as well as the spatial organization of the river influence area. The five challenges are ecological reconstruction, transport reorientation, social rebalance, cultural revival and economic reactivation.

To overcome these five challenges, the proposal consists of four general design strategies to create a resilient river for Moscow:

1) Establish an ecological infrastructure – to create an ecological security pattern which regulates the masterplan framework development. It is a deep form which secures a stable and everlasting structure that protects and enhances the critical natural and cultural processes of Moscow. Based on this resilient infrastructure, the pattern will guide and foster future urban development. This is the foundation of the alternative urbanism that will ensure ecological and cultural resilience as the first step.

2) Reorient urbanism to the river – the growth of ecological and cultural infrastructure. Restructure and reorient the urban development along the Moscow River’s natural assets as a place-making strategy to leverage investment and improve Moscow City’s ecology, transportation, and social, cultural and economic development. The river will help redistribute the centralized functions of the old, monocentric city center by creating numerous new centroids, applying a polycentric planning strategy along the entire river as the city’s renewal axis. These centroids will act as catalysts of development—the ultimate river revitalization masterplan will be actualized through ripple effects.

3) Design a fascinating water frontage – details explanation of how the waterfront of the Moscow River will transform and how the transformation will help ease the pressure on the old city center. Catalyst points are clearly defined to allocate priority areas that should be developed first to energize adjacent areas and finally realize the eco-cultural waterfront corridor that will guide the city into the new century, not only spatially, but also ecologically, transportationally, socially, culturally and economically.

4) Curate vision through time – generations of civic leaders understood that the principles of land use and architecture change over time, whereas the intrinsic landscape and planning structure will endure and long last. It is critical that the framework design works not only in the present but also the long-term, facilitating future masterplan developments as part of the city vision.

The Moscow River will be the River Recovered, the prime element which secures the city structure with a regulated pattern, guides polycentric urbanism with multi-dimensional developments and curates a prominent vision that will endure through time for the City of Moscow.

Year: 2014
Area: 10,400 hectare
Length: 82KM

Lead Design
Turenscape
Design Principal: Dr. Kongjian Yu
Project-in-Charge: Stanley Lung Wai Cham
Associate-in-Charge: Jia Jun, Chun Shi, Bin Yan, Homa Farjadi
Project Manager: Mi Lin
Design Team: Jin Yi Hung, Yuyu Wang, Xin Cong, Qinbo Liu, Junge Ma, Yao Gong, Bing Gao, Honghui Du, Yuanzhe Liu, Na Zhao, Zhenlizi Liu, Ying Cai, Qiang Guo, Nina Uljarevic, Kari Sorensen, Stephanine Wu

Cultural Programming: Archpolis
Sergey Georgievskiy, Vyacheslav Zavgorodny, Igor Dobrovolsky, Ivan Polyssky, Dmitry Tsygankov.

Engineering: Domostroitelnaya kompaniya №1 - DSK NO1
All comments only on behalf of Internet users
Refresh

首页 >  土人项目 >  规划 >  正文

莫斯科河

2015-01-30 浏览:6265次

项目信息

项目地点:
俄罗斯 莫斯科
项目类别:
规划
项目规模:
10,400公顷
设计时间:
2014-9-30
建成时间:
2015-1-30
委托方:
莫斯科市政府、莫斯科规划部

项目简介

  莫斯科河道整体规划总长82公里,沿河两岸景观带长度超过200公里,规划覆盖面积达10,400公顷。规划设计将使莫斯科与世界级的滨河城市媲美,并让莫斯科河和英国伦敦泰晤士河 (Thames)、德国柏林施普雷河 (Spree)、法国巴黎黎塞纳河(Seine) 及中国上海黄埔江(Huangpu) 齐名。


  土人设计方案详情,可浏览莫斯科河项目主办方官方网址址:

  http://themoscowriver.com/rus/results_page/turenscape.html

  世界上有许多由河流孕育的大型都市,但纵观其平面形态,仅有少数几座城市,在建成近一千年后孕育其发展的母亲仍然保持着蜿蜒曲折的自然形态,莫斯科便是其中之一。
   
  河流是最能代表大自然强大恢复能力的自然形态之一。它体现了自然水系统的弹性、适应性和优势。然而,这种弯曲的形态几乎只在自然界中能得以延续,在历史悠久的大都市中却极难寻得。城市居民们总是试图以固化驳岸和截弯取直的方式来驯化自然的河湾,随着工业革命的进程,对城市快速交通的需求激增,这种状况愈演愈烈。这类专断的行径,虽然在短时间内提高了交通和工业化的效率,长远看来,却抹杀了自然河流最重要的特征之一,也由此摧毁了能够维持城市生态系统可持续性的整体的生态服务体系。进入21世纪,原始工业化趋近尾声,新科技的兴起使人类认识到,以有限的资源就能实现更可持续的发展,于是,市民们愈来愈重新渴望接触自然,并享受生态系统的弹性。全球的城市居民们都涌入未经大规模开发的地区,去欣赏九曲河湾的壮观景象。
 
  然而,在莫斯科,情况本可以截然不同,因为它拥有世界上只有少数几座城市拥有的形态几乎未经损坏的母亲河,而且其自然形态也易于恢复。通过修复、重新引导和组织莫斯科河滨河地带及其影响区域,并安排活动空间,我们很容易以此为契机来修复城区并为其营造多重恢复力,包括生态系统、交通系统、社交生活、文化生活,以及稳固的经济增长五个方面的恢复力。这条曲折的河流奔流不息,久经历史考验,伴随着这座城市经历了无数困境,依然屹立不倒;相信它最终也能够,并必将将引领这座世界知名的大都市穿越工业化城市化时代的尾声,一跃进入倡导生态修复的新世纪, 以确保自然环境与人类社会的和谐共生。
 
  【设计说明】
 
  莫斯科河总体规划的设计理念基于一种先进的思想:通过河流显著的蜿蜒的形态营造一条“弹性的河流”。规划并未遵循传统的功能至上的规划方法,将河流视为一个单体并仅围绕河岸进行滨水设计,而是启用了“反规划”的方法,将城市生态系统视为整体,综合了科学性与艺术性。
 
  莫斯科的城市结构围绕弯曲的莫斯科河展开,河边环绕着的楔形绿地连结成绿色的网络。这条河作为城市的脊髓根植于城市中心并串连起整座城市,引导着强壮的绿色力量渗入到各个城市中心。规划的框架是一套整体的策略,即沿着一系列蜿蜒的河流建成绿色基础设施来向莫斯科城市提供生态服务。这些河流会像蓝色的生命线一样,将支离破碎的城市区块缝合在一起,并恢复其天然的优势。它们将会成为新的城市中心,并为城市的生态更新、交通连接、社会公平、文化身份和经济繁荣提供一张分期逐步实现的蓝图。最终的解决方案由四大策略组成,包括有序的结构、变革性的内容、详细的重点发展计划,以及循序渐进的时间规划。
 
  整个总体概念规划将应对莫斯科市的五大挑战。这些挑战大多可以通过重组河流与城市的关系,以及重构河流影响区域的空间结构来解决。这五大挑战包括生态重建、交通重导、社会新衡、文化新生,以及经济复苏。为了克服这些困难,为莫斯科创造一条弹性的河流,规划共包含四大主要设计策略:
 
  1) 建立一套生态基础设施:通过构建生态安全格局来控制总体规划框架的展开。这是一种深层次的格局,它能确立一个稳定持久的结构,以保护并推进莫斯科核心的自然和文化过程。基于这种弹性的基础设施,该格局将会进一步引导和促进未来的城市发展。这是新型都市主义的基础,一种优先保障生态和文化可恢复性的都市主义。
 
  2)将城市化重新引向河流:发展生态和文化基础设施。沿着莫斯科河,遵循其自然资源的分布来重新组织和引导城市发展,该策略同时还会拉动投资,并改善莫斯科的生态、交通、社会、文化和经济发展。这条河将作为城市更新的轴线,帮助城市疏散原来单极的城市中心,并通过沿河的多中心规划策略创造许多新的城市中心。这些新中心将催化新的发展,以连锁反应的形式逐步实现最终的河流总体修复。
 
  3)多彩纷呈的滨水景观:用细节阐释如何实现莫斯科河滨水景观的转变,以及这种转变将如何减轻老城中心的巨大压力。滨河一带将优先发展一些地区,作为“催化点”来带动临近区域的发展,并最终实现整条“生态-文化滨水廊道”的建设。这条廊道不仅仅是空间的,还将从生态、交通、社会、文化和经济多方面引领莫斯科进入新的时代。
 
  4)遵从时序的保育策略:历代的领导者都明白,土地利用方式和建筑原则都会随着时间而改变,但是景观和规划的内在结构却可以历久弥坚,长久续存。本规划的设计框架至关重要,它不仅适用于今日现世,也能够促进其他未来总体规划的发展,并将未来发展的多重可能性作为城市整体架构的一部分融入其中。
 
  莫斯科河将会是一条具有巨大弹性的河流。它将成为城市发展的首要要素,能保证城市的有序发展格局,引导城市多中心的城市化与多维的发展,并孕育莫斯科的远大前程,引领它经受时间的洗礼走向更美好的未来。
所有评论仅代表网友意见
看不清,请刷新